Administrative overview


The Australia-India Council was established on 21 May 1992 under an Order-in-Council of the Australian Government.

Annual report

The Council reports to the Minister for Foreign Affairs.Although not formally required to prepare an annual report, the Council has established a practice of submitting such a report to the Minister and to the Australian Parliament.

Auditor's report

The financial affairs of the Australia-India Council are examined by the Australian National Audit Office as part of its examination of the financial accounts of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


Council membership consists of a Chairman and from 4 to 14 other members, appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister for Foreign Affairs. A full list of members during 1997-98 is available under Board Members.


The Council met on 4 September 1997 (Canberra), 5 December 1997 (Perth), 27 March 1998 (Adelaide) and 15 May 1998 (Melbourne).


Members receive sitting fees for attendance at Council meetings and for other agreed Council business, at rates determined under the Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973, as amended, for part-time members of non-statutory bodies.They are also eligible for travel allowances at rates determined under the Act and for reimbursement of travel costs incurred on Council business.

Secretariat and staffing

The principal functions of the Australia-India Council secretariat are to make recommendations to the Council's board on program expenditure and other matters, to implement board decisions and to provide administrative support.

During 1997-98, the secretariat was located in the South Asia and Indian Ocean Branch of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, R G Casey Building, John McEwen Crescent, Barton, ACT 0221 and was staffed by two departmental officers, Mr John Powys (Director) and Mr Ian Black (Project Officer).

Contact details:

Australia-India Council
PO Box 5363
Kingston ACT 2604
Telephone: (02) 6261 3928
Facsimile: (02) 6261 1743

Home page:

Australian High Commission, New Delhi

The Council funds a locally engaged project manager within the Public Affairs Section of the Australian High Commission in New Delhi to implement and assist with its programs in India.The AIC project manager in New Delhi during 1997-98 was Ms Asha Das.Contact details are:

Public Affairs Section 3
Australian High Commission
PO Box 5210
New Delhi 110 021 INDIA
Telephone: +91 11 688 822
Facsimile: +91 11 688 2732

Industrial Democracy and Equal Employment Opportunity

Secretariat staff are covered under the Industrial Democracy and Equal Employment Opportunity provisions formulated by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.The activities and programs of the Council also fall within the Access and Equity plan of the Department.

Freedom of information

The Council received no applications under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 during the reporting period.

Australia-India Focus newsletter

Free subscriptions to the Australia-India Focus newsletter can be arranged through:

Australia-India Business Council
PO Box E 14
Telephone: (02) 6273 2311
Facsimile: (02) 6273 3196

Suggestions or material for the newsletter can be sent to:

Mr Christopher Snedden
Editor, Australia-India Focus facsimile: (03) 9482 3837

Top of page - Australia-India Council Home - Annual Report 1997-98 Home

Introduction - Chairman's message - Board members - Mission statement, aim and objectives - Activities - Administrative overview - Appendix: Australia-India Council Trust Account Financial Statements 1997-98


This page last modified: Thursday, 11-Oct-2012 15:44:04 EST

Local Date: Friday, 30-Jan-2015 03:21:19 EST