Accreditation for Australian NGOs

Accreditation of Australian NGOs is a front-end and rigorous risk-management process which is also a robust due diligence process for DFAT. To receive funding under the Australian NGO Cooperation Program (ANCP), Australian NGOs must be accredited by DFAT. To gain accreditation, NGOs are required to undergo a thorough and independent assessment of their organisational structure, systems, policies and philosophies against an agreed set of criteria. NGOs must demonstrate capacity and performance against a range of indicators and may seek accreditation at either Base or Full level.

Accreditation is also a capacity building tool which enables Australian NGOs to reflect on and improve their own performance.

NGOs are strongly encouraged to review the NGO Accreditation Guidance Manual (2016) prior to submitting an application for accreditation.


An organisation that wishes to apply for accreditation must meet the following eligibility requirements:


  • Australian NGOs applying for accreditation for the first time, or ANCP NGOs seeking to upgrade their accreditation status from Base to Full (outside of their re-accreditation timeframe), can submit applications online anytime during an annual three month window. Applications will be assessed in the order that they are received. ¬†Application dates are as follows:
    • 2017 - 1 August to 31 October
    • 2018 - 1 June to 31 August
  • Access to funding under the ANCP for new accredited Australian NGOs, or ANCP NGOs that are eligible to receive an upgrade in their accreditation status from Base to Full, is subject to annual budgetary funding availability; and
  • NGOs seeking re-accreditation will submit their applications according to pre-agreed deadlines.

Application online links

New or Upgrading NGOs in the 2017 application round

Re-accrediting NGOs during 2017-18

Frequently asked questions, complaints handling and policies concerning accreditation application processing can be found in relevant chapters in the NGO Accreditation Guidance Manual (2016).

Other relevant information

Last Updated: 31 July 2017