Australia-Korea Foundation

Organisation and Board Members

Organisation Structure

The Australia-Korea Foundation currently consists of a six-member part-time Board with a Chair and five Ordinary Members, as well as an ex-officio representative of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).  The Chair is appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister for Foreign Affairs.  Ordinary Members are appointed by the Minister for Foreign Affairs.  The Board meets several times each year to consider policy directions and to decide on projects and grants.  AKF Board members are drawn from a wide cross section of the Australian community.  While some members have particular expertise in the field of Australia-Korea relations, others have been selected for their particular skills and knowledge in relation to aspects of Australian society.

The management and day-to-day operations of the Foundation is carried out by a Secretariat located within DFAT, and is staffed by officers of the department.

Current board membership


Peter Coleman

Appointed 10 December 2014 for five years

Peter is the CEO and Managing Director of Woodside, Australia's largest independent oil and gas company. Peter has 30 years experience in the dynamic and highly competitive global oil and gas industry, successfully executing business across six continents. Peter has played an important role in providing energy security, job opportunities and economic development in some of the world's poorest communities. During his time in Indonesia from 2004-2008 he led significant humanitarian efforts to support victims of the tsunami in Aceh province and provide relief to victims of the Jogjakarta earthquake.

In 2011 Peter was selected to take over the reins at Woodside, a company with long-term business links in Korea, and significant buyer relationships in Japan and China. Peter has transitioned Woodside towards a values-led company with an increasingly global outlook.

Peter's strategic approach to growing Woodside's business in an increasingly competitive global market is recognised within the industry and beyond, including through an honorary Adjunct Professorship in Corporate Strategy from the University of Western Australia and a Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award from Monash University.

Peter's desire for business to make a broader contribution to society is evident through roles with a number of business associations in Australia and abroad, including: Senior Vice President, Australia-Japan Business Cooperation Committee; Member, Advisory Council of the Asia Society Australia; Member, Australia-India Cooperation Council and Fellow, Australian Institute of Science and Technology.


Ms Jacquie Riddell

Jacquie Riddell is a creative strategist and general manager with over 25 years experience in media and marketing innovation and leadership. She has created television channels and radio stations; new program formats and digital media concepts; developed world-famous marketing initiatives; led  large teams and overseen large television productions.

She has particular skills in media brand development and a track record building successful and high profile media brands.

Jacquie is presently a Consultant in Marketing and Communications for Barangaroo, the new harbour side urban precinct being created in Sydney’s CBD.

She was the Director of Marketing at SBS for the 6 years, leading a large division responsible for the brand management, creative direction, audience research, content strategy, advertising and promotion of SBS TV, radio and online. Her work at SBS included development of the organisation’s new brand platform ‘Six (now Seven) Billion Stories and counting…’ as well as the creation of arts channel STUDIO, and has won numerous international creative awards.

Jacquie is highly experienced in digital media creation, having created social media strategies, web sites, mobile initiatives, consumer databases, digital/ITV television applications and mobile apps. She does pro-bono work for several organisations. When not changing the media landscape with new ideas, she can be found in the bush around a campfire, tending to her native garden or in the waves with the kids.

Prof Michael Manton

Former Chief of the Bureau of Meteorology Research Centre from 1984 until his retirement in 2006. He now has a part-time position as Professor in the School of Mathematical Sciences at Monash University.

He has been a member of the Joint Scientific Committee for the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) and chair of the Atmospheric Observation Panel (AOPC) of the Global Climate Observation System (GCOS).

From 2002 until 2006, he was chair of the National Committee for Earth System Science of the Australian Academy of Science. From 1998 to 2011, he chaired the Peer Review Committee for the Ambient Air Quality National Environment Protection Measure.

Currently Chair of the WCRP Observation and Assimilation Panel and a member of the WMO Expert Team on Weather Modification Research. He is Chair of the Scientific Steering Committee for the Monsoon Asia Integrated Regional Study (MAIRS) and is leading the climate synthesis of the Asia Pacific Network for Global Change Research (APN).

Professor Manton is a former member of the Board of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), and is Chair of the ATSE International Strategy Group. He is a member of the Science Panel for the South Eastern Australian Climate Initiative (SEACI).

Ex-officio member

Gillian Bird

Gillian Bird, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Bird serves as Ambassador to ASEAN and carries responsibility for the East Asia Summit. She represents the department on the Australia-Indonesia Institute, the Australia-Malaysia Institute, the Australia-Thailand Institute, the Australia-China Council, the Australia-Japan Foundation, the Australia-Korea Foundation and the Strategic Policy Coordination Group. She chairs the Pandemic Contingency Task Force and the Department's Audit and Risk Committee. Ms Bird also attends, as required, the National Crisis Committee.