Jump to site navigation...Jump to page breadcrumb navigation...Jump to page content...Jump to page footer...Australian Government - Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Annual Report 2002-2003
Annual Report home :: Table of Contents :: Userguide :: Download versions
1. Overviews2. Performance3. Corporate4. Financials5. Appendixes6. Glossaries

Your location: Glossaries > Glossary of acronyms and abbreviations

Glossary of acronyms and abbreviations

AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal
ABAC APEC Business Advisory Council
ABC Australian Broadcasting Corporation
ABCAP ABC Asia Pacific (television service)
ACC Australia–China Council
ACIAR Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
ADCNET Australian Diplomatic Communications Network
ADF Australian Defence Force
AFTA-CER ASEAN Free Trade Area—Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement
AIC Australia–India Council
AICC Australia International Cultural Council
AII Australia–Indonesia Institute
AJF Australia–Japan Foundation
AKF Australia–Korea Foundation
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
APEC Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (forum)
APIS Australian Passport Information Service
APS Australian Public Service
AQIS Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service
ARF ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations
ASNO Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office
AusAID Australian Agency for International Development
AUSFTA Australia–United States Free Trade Agreement
AUSMIN Australia–United States Ministerial Consultations
Austrade Australian Trade Commission
AWA Australian Workplace Agreement
BTT Bougainville Transition Team
BWC Biological Weapons Convention
CA Certified Agreement
CAAR Council for Australian–Arab Relations
CAD Canada–Australia Dialogue
Cairns Group A group of 17 agricultural exporting countries chaired by Australia.
CAP Common Agricultural Policy (European Union)
CAS Cultural Awards Scheme
CDS Commonwealth Disability Strategy
CEP Closer Economic Partnership (AFTA-CER)
CER–FTA Closer Economic Relations Free Trade Area
CMAG Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group
CMIS Consular Management Information System
COALAR Council on Australia Latin America Relations
CODEX Codex Alimentarius Commission (food standards)
CPA Coalition Provisional Authority
CTBT Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty
CWC Chemical Weapons Convention
DAP Direct Aid Program
DFAT Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
DIMIA Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs
DPRK Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (also known as North Korea)
ECOSOC UN Economic and Social Council
EFIC Export Finance and Insurance Corporation
EMS Environmental Management System
ESD Ecologically Sustainable Development
EU European Union
FEALAC Forum for East Asia–Latin America Cooperation
FMCT Fissile Material Cut-off Treaty
FMIS Financial Management Information System
FOI Freedom of Information
FTA Free Trade Agreement
GST Goods and Services Tax
HRMIS Human Resources Management Information System
HRTC Human Rights Technical and Cooperation Program
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
ICT Information and Communications Technology
ICTCG International Counter-Terrorism Coordination Group
IMF International Monetary Fund
IMV International Media Visits
IOR-ARC Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation
IPMT International Peace Monitoring Team (Solomon Islands)
ITCS Indirect Tax Concession Scheme
IWC International Whaling Commission
JCPAA (Parliamentary) Joint Committee on Public Accounts and Audit
JSCFADT (Parliamentary) Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade
JSCOT (Parliamentary) Joint Standing Committee on Treaties
KEDO Korean Peninsula Energy Development Organization
LES Locally Engaged Staff
LNG Liquefied Natural Gas
MDG Market Development Group
MOU Memorandum of Understanding
MTCR Missile Technology Control Regime
NAFTA North American Free Trade Agreement
NAIDOC National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NCCPD National Consultative Committee on Peace and Disarmament
NGO Non-Government Organisation
NIA National Interest Account
NPT Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
NSG Nuclear Suppliers Group
NTC National Trade Consultations
OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OH&S Occupational Health and Safety
OPCW Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
OPO Overseas Property Office
OSCU Open Source Collection Unit
Paris Club A group of nations (including Australia) that meets on a case-by-case basis to reach a common approach on rescheduling or reducing the debt service on official loans from their countries.
PBS Portfolio Budget Statements
PIF Pacific Islands Forum
PMG Peace Monitoring Group (Bougainville)
PNG Papua New Guinea
PSI Proliferation Security Initiative
ROK Republic of Korea (also known as South Korea)
SAFTA Singapore–Australia Free Trade Agreement
SAR Special Administrative Region (eg Hong Kong SAR)
SARS Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome
SATIN Secure Australian Telecommunications and Information Network
SES Senior Executive Service
SLA Service Level Agreement
STARS Statistical Trade Analysis and Retrieval System
SVP Special Visits Program
TPAC Trade Policy Advisory Council
TRIPS Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights
TTMRA Trans Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement
UN United Nations
UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNMOVIC UN Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission
UNSC United Nations Security Council
US United States of America
WDP Workplace Diversity Program
WEF World Economic Forum
WMD Weapons of Mass Destruction
WTO World Trade Organization


Return to top of page

Previous page: Glossary of terms

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Annual Report 2002–2003
Home | Table of Contents | Userguide | Download versions
Overviews | Performance | Corporate | Financials | Appendixes | Glossaries

Australian Government
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Home | Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy


Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS