Roles and responsibilities of Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates, and Consulates headed by Honorary Consuls

The usual term for the main representative office of one country in the capital city of another; usually headed by an Ambassador.
High Commission
Equivalent to an Embassy. This is the main representative office of a Commonwealth country (e.g. Australia, Canada) in the capital city of another Commonwealth country (e.g. India, the United Kingdom); headed by a High Commissioner.
Consulate or Consulate-General
A lower level representative office, usually located in a city outside the capital city (e.g. in Indonesia Australia has an Embassy in Jakarta, and a Consulate-General in Bali); headed by a Consul-General.
Honorary Consulate
Some Australian Consulates are headed by an Honorary Consul.This is usually a private businessperson (mostly an Australian citizen) who agrees to perform limited consular functions on a part-time basis, in a city where Australia does not have an Australia-based representative. Australia currently has 48 Honorary Consuls around the world.

Vienna Convention Treaties