Guinea is a country of western Africa. It is bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali to the north and east; by Côte d'Ivoire to the southeast; by Liberia and Sierra Leone to the south; and by the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The capital is Conakry.

There are four geographic regions that also correspond with the countries major linguistic groups; they are Lower Guinea, the Fouta Djallon, Upper Guinea, and the Forest Region.

Guinea gained independence from France in 1958, and has a population of approximately 11.4 million (2012). Sometimes it is referred to as Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from its neighbours – Guinea-Bissau which lies in its north and Equatorial Guinea in central Africa. Guinea is the second largest producer of Bauxite in the world, and has large deposits of gold and diamonds.

Australian accreditation to Guinea is through the High Commission in Ghana (although our Head of Mission has not presented credentials at this time and the Ebola outbreak will delay this further). Guinea is accredited to Australia though its embassy in Tokyo.

Economic and trade information

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates




Last Updated: 8 October 2014