Nigeria is Africa's most populous country, with a population of more than 170 million. More than 21 million people live in Lagos, Africa's largest city, which was the country's capital until the seat of government moved to Abuja in 1991. Nigeria is English-speaking. Although significant development challenges remain, the Nigerian economy has grown strongly over the last decade and is now the largest in Africa.

Nigeria is a member of the Commonwealth. Nigeria hosts the headquarters of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

Australia and Nigeria signed an MOU, covering political, economic, commercial, scientific, technical and cultural cooperation in September 2012. Senior Officials' Talks took place in December 2013, in Canberra and are scheduled for 2016 in Abuja. Australia imports approximately 10 per cent of its crude petroleum oil from Nigeria.

Australia maintains a High Commission in Abuja and an Honorary Consulate in Lagos. Nigeria is represented in Australia by a High Commissioner based in Canberra.

Economic and trade information

Economic diplomacy

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates




Last Updated: 2 July 2015