Papua New Guinea

Regional resettlement arrangement

Joint Partnership Declaration

On 10 May 2013, Prime Ministers Julia Gillard and Peter O'Neill signed the Joint Declaration for a New Papua New Guinea – Australia Partnership. The Declaration reflects the evolution of the bilateral relationship since 1987 when Prime Ministers Hawke and Wingti signed the Declaration of Principles. The 2013 Joint Declaration affirms both countries' commitment to deepening ties and to working together in the region.

Joint Declaration for a New Papua New Guinea-Australia Partnership

Economic, trade and political information

Australia-Papua New Guinea Ministerial Forum

Recent statements

Travel information

Heads of Government

Embassies and consulates


Papua New Guinea


Full Circle: Australia and Papua New Guinea 1883-1970

Contact details

  • Assistant Secretary
    Papua New Guinea Branch
    Pacific Division
    Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
    Barton ACT 0221
  • Phone: (02) 6261 1111
  • Fax: (02) 6261 2248

Related links