Singapore-Australia Joint Ministerial Committee

The Singapore-Australia Joint Ministerial Committee (SAJMC) is a biennial high-level conference of Australian and Singaporean Ministers who meet to discuss bilateral trade, defence and security issues.

The eighth meeting of the SAJMC was held in Singapore on 22 August 2014, including Singaporean Ministers for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law K Shanmugam, Minister for Trade and Industry Lim Hng Kiang and Minister for Defence Ng Eng Hen participated in the meeting. While Minister for Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop, Minister for Trade and Investment Andrew Robb AO, and Assistant Minister for Defence Stuart Robert represented Australia.

At the meeting, the Ministers resolved to develop a new Comprehensive Strategic Partnership that recognises the deepening engagement between our governments, the historic opportunities in our region, and the tangible benefits to be achieved for our peoples. Supporting the implementation of the Partnership, Ministers agreed further on a ten year roadmap of practical joint initiatives – “Project 2025” – to enhance cooperation across the economic, foreign affairs, defence, security and people-to-people spheres.

Last Updated: 19 June 2015