Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

Australia is the current chair of Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), which promotes cooperation in the Indian Ocean region.

IORA is the only regional forum linking most countries on the Indian Ocean rim through an annual Foreign Ministers' meeting.

It seeks to expand mutually beneficial cooperation through a consensus-based approach.

Six priority areas

description of the six IORA priority areas

IORA Membership

Map of the members of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) United States of America United Kingdom France Egypt Kenya Tanzania Mozambique South Africa Australia Indonesia Malaysia Yemen Oman Madagascar Mauritius Comoros Seychelles Sri Lanka Thailand Iran Bangladesh India United Arab Emirates China Japan Singapore

The Association comprises 20 member states:

China, Egypt, France, Japan, United Kingdom, United States are dialogue partners.

The Indian Ocean Tourism Organisation, and the Indian Ocean Research Group hold observer status.