Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

Promoting cooperation in the Indian Ocean

The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is the only regional forum linking most countries on the Indian Ocean rim through an annual Foreign Ministers' meeting.

It seeks to expand mutually beneficial cooperation in the Indian Ocean region through a consensus-based approach.

Australia completed its two-year term as IORA Chair in October 2015. Indonesia will chair IORA until 2017. South Africa will serve as the Vice-Chair.

Aerial photograph of a reef

Six priority areas

1. Maritime safety and security
2. Trade and investment facilitation
3. Fisheries management
4. Disaster risk management
5. Academic science and technology cooperation
6. Tourism and cultural exchanges

Empowerment of women and girls is a cross cutting issue

IORA Membership

Map of the members of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

The Association comprises 21 member states:

China, Egypt, France, Germany, Japan, United Kingdom, United States are dialogue partners.

The Indian Ocean Tourism Organisation, and the Indian Ocean Research Group hold observer status.

Related links