Indian Ocean Naval Symposium (IONS)

The Indian Ocean Naval Symposium (IONS) was established in 2008. The inaugural meeting was held in New Delhi, India, on 14 February 2008. Meetings are held every two years and various naval seminars and workshops are held every year.

IONS is a voluntary initiative that seeks to increase maritime co-operation among navies of littoral states of the Indian Ocean region by providing an open and inclusive forum for discussion of regionally relevant maritime issues. IONS endeavours to generate a flow of information between naval professionals resulting in common understanding and agreements.


  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bahrain
  • Burma
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • France
  • Indonesia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Malaysia
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Maldives
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen


The first IONS 'Conclave of Chiefs' was chaired in India in 2008. It has since been agreed that both the Chair and Secretariat will rotate every two years, with UAE currently holding the responsibility until 2012 when it is transferred to South Africa at the Conclave of Chiefs. Australia will assume the IONS Chair and Secretariat in 2014.

Last Updated: 5 November 2013