Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI)

The Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI) is a cross-regional, ministerial-level group initiated by Australia and Japan. It focuses on practical steps that will take forward the consensus outcomes of the 2010 NPT Review Conference. Other members are Canada, Chile, Germany, Mexico, the Netherlands, Nigeria, the Philippines, Poland, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.

The NPDI's current thematic priorities include:

  • encouraging greater transparency surrounding nuclear disarmament efforts
  • addressing the lack of substantive work in the Conference on Disarmament across the four core issue on its agenda
  • increasing support for and conclusion of key legal instruments that safeguard and govern nuclear activities and
  • strengthening the NPT regime

There have been seven Ministerial meetings of the NPDI:

NPDI statements

Last Updated: 15 November 2013