Ukraine Sanctions: Review of Australia’s autonomous sanctions imposed on 84 individuals and entities in relation to Ukraine

Members of the public are invited to comment on a statutory review of Australia's autonomous sanctions imposed on 63 individuals and 21 entities in response to Russia's ongoing threat to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine. These individuals and entities have been designated by the Minister for Foreign Affairs under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 for the purpose of targeted financial sanctions. These individuals have also been declared by the Minister under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 for the purpose of travel bans. These listings were made on 2 September 2014 and will expire on 2 September 2017 unless extended by the Minister for Foreign Affairs.


  1. Sergey BESEDA
  2. Alexander Vasilyevich BORTNIKOV
  3. Mikhail Vladimiorich DEGTYAREV
  4. Mikhail Yefimovich FRADKOV
  5. Valery Vasilevich GERASIMOV
  6. Boris Vyacheslavoich GRYZLOV
  7. Ramzan Akhmadovitch KADYROV
  8. Sergei Ivanovich MENYAILO
  9. Sergei Ivanovich NEVEROV
  10. Rashid Gumorovich NURGALIEV
  11. Nikolai Platonovich PATRUSHEV
  12. Vladimir Nikolavich PLIGIN
  13. Nikolay Terentievich SHAMALOV
  14. Vladimir SHAMANOV
  15. Ludmila Ivanovna SHVETSOVA
  16. Sergey ABISOV
  17. Vladimir ANTYUFEYEV (also known as Vladimir Shevtsov)
  18. Marat BASHIROV
  19. Fedir Dmytrovych BEREZIN
  20. Igor Mykolaiovych BEZLER
  21. Valeriy BOLOTOV
  22. Aleksandr Yurevich BORODAI
  23. Pavel Yurevich GUBAREV
  24. Ekaterina GUBAREVA
  25. Yurij IVAKIN
  26. Petr Grigorievich JAROSH
  28. Alexandr Aleksandrovich KALYUSSKY
  29. Aleksey KARYAKIN
  30. Valery Vladimirovich KAUROV
  31. Alexander KHODAKOVSKY
  1. Alexander KHRYAKOV
  2. Nikolay KOZITSYN
  3. Oleg Grigorievich KOZYURA
  4. Boris LITVINOV
  5. Roman LYAGIN
  6. Konstantin Valerevich MALOFEEV
  7. Aleksandr MALYKHIN
  8. Oleksiy MOZGOVYI
  9. Vasyl NIKITIN
  11. Natalia Vladimirovna POKLONSKAYA
  12. Andriy PURGIN
  13. Igor Sergeievich SHEVCHENKO
  14. Oksana TCHIGRINA
  15. Alexander Nikolayevich TKACHYOV
  16. Oleg TSARIOV
  17. Serhii Anatoliyovych ZDRILIUK
  18. Victor Yuriiovych ANOSOV
  19. Viacheslav Anatoliiovych APRAKSIMOV
  20. Ruslan Yunirovish ILKAEV
  21. Victor Petrovich IVANOV
  22. Alexander KARAMAN
  23. Valery Vladimirovich KULIKOV
  24. Valerii Kostiantynovych MUSIIENKO
  25. Alexander Mihailovich NOSATOV
  26. German PROKOPIV
  27. Yurii Oleksandrovych PROTSENKO
  28. Sergey Gennadevich TSYPLAKOV
  29. Lt. Gen. Igor TURCHENYUK
  30. Oleh Anatoliiovych VASIN
  31. Aleksandr ZAKHARCHENKO
  32. Vladimir ZHIRINOVSKY


  1. Almaz-Antey
  2. Army of the Southeast
  3. Azov Distillery Plant
  4. Donbass People's Militia
  5. Factory of Sparkling Wine Novy Svet – State Enterprise
  6. Federal State of Novorossiya
  7. Feodosiya Enterprise
  8. International Union of Public Associations 'Great Don Army'
  9. Kerch Ferry – State Ferry Enterprise
  10. Kerch Commercial Sea Port – State Enterprise
  11. Luhansk Guard
  1. Magarach of the National Institute of Wine – State Enterprise
  2. National Association of Producers "Massandra" – State Concern
  3. People's Republic of Donetsk
  4. People's Republic of Luhansk
  5. Resort 'Nizhnyaya Oreanda'
  6. Russian National Commercial Bank
  7. Sevastopol Commercial Seaport
  8. SOBOL
  9. Universal-Avia – State Enterprise
  10. Vostok Battalion

Under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 in relation to Ukraine, the Minister for Foreign Affairs may designate an entity or designate and/or declare a person that the Minister is satisfied is responsible for, or complicit in, the threat to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine. 

Persons and entities who have been designated by the Minister are subject to targeted financial sanctions. Persons who have been declared by the Minister are subject to travel bans.

Details of all persons and entities listed by the Australian Government pursuant to the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011, including Australia's autonomous sanctions in relation to Ukraine, can be found in the DFAT Consolidated List.

More information on Australian sanctions laws in relation to Ukraine

How to make a submission

  1. Complete a submission cover sheet [Word 305 KB]  
  2. Prepare your submission
  3. Email your cover sheet and submission to

Alternatively, post your submission to:

Sanctions Section
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
R.G. Casey Building
John McEwen Crescent
Barton ACT 0221 Australia

Submissions must be received by 5pm on Wednesday 2 August 2017, Australian Eastern Standard Time. The Department reserves the right not to consider late submissions.

Confidentiality and privacy

All submissions will be made available on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) website, subject to DFAT's sole discretion. If you would like your submission to be treated as confidential, in whole or in part, please note this on the submission cover sheet. If you ask for part of your submission to be treated as confidential, please provide two versions of it, one with the confidential information removed for publication.

DFAT will collect personal information from you for the purpose of processing, reviewing and assessing your submission. Your personal information will be used and disclosed for the purpose for which it was collected, or as otherwise authorised in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988.

The names of individuals making submissions will be published unless you ask us not to publish your name. No contact details will be disclosed. For submissions made by or on behalf of organisations only the name of the organisation will be published.

DFAT's privacy policy is available online and contains information about how you may access and seek correction of your personal information and how you can complain about a breach of your privacy.

Last Updated: 13 July 2017