The Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions–Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Amendment Regulation 2016 (“2016 Amendment Regulation”) took effect on 30 November 2016. The 2016 Amendment Regulation makes significant amendments to the Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions–Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulations 2008 (“2008 Regulations”), to give effect to United Nations Security Council Resolution 2270 (2016).

Australia implements the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regime in relation to the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK, or North Korea).

The UNSC adopted resolution 1718 (2006) on 14 October 2006 imposing sanctions on the DPRK. The sanctions have been amended and extended by UNSC resolution 1874 (2009), resolution 2087 (2013), resolution 2094 (2013) and resolution 2270 (2016).

Australia also imposes autonomous sanctions in relation to the DPRK.

The Australian Government announced its autonomous sanctions in September 2006 in response to Australia’s concerns about the nature of the DPRK’s nuclear, weapons of mass destruction and proliferation programs. The autonomous sanctions have been amended on several occasions since.

The pages listed below summarise the current sanctions measures imposed by the UNSC and autonomous sanctions implemented by Australia in relation to the DPRK.

Useful links

Last Updated: 3 February 2017