Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security)

Australia Awards Fellowships that specifically focus on health security will be offered to Australian Host Organisations from 30 October 2017. The round will close on 5 December 2017.

The round will look at combatting drug resistance in the Greater Mekong Sub region countries and is tied to the Malaria World Congress in Melbourne in July 2018.

The table below outlines the eligibility criteria and requirement for these targeted Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security):

Eligible Australian Organisations:

Australian Universities, Australian Medical Research Institutes, and Australian NGO Cooperation Program (ANCP) Accredited NGOs.

Eligible partner countries:

Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam, and China (Yunnan Province only).

Duration of the Fellowship:

Between 10 and 21 calendar days.

Fellowship Program:

The Fellowship Program must include attendance of the Malaria World Congress, in Melbourne, 1-5 July 2018.

Fellowship Activities:

100% of the Fellowship activities are to delivered and conducted in Australia.

Fellowship Applications:

Eligible organisations are limited to submitting one application only.

No more than six Fellows may be nominated in each application.

The Fellow’s availability to attend the Fellowship program must be confirmed in the application.

Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security) will target current and future leaders and mid-career professionals who will be in a position to advance the priority development issue on their return home. Fellowship activities are aimed at providing high-quality training, exchange of expertise, skills and knowledge, and opportunities to enhance networks on issues of shared interest. Grant funding of up to $30,000 per Fellow is offered on a competitive basis to eligible Australian organisations to support a range of professional development activities. Fellowship activities may include a combination of short-term study and/or training, professional development, networking and work experience.

DFAT invites eligible Australian organisations to submit applications that align with the specific health security focus of the Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security).

Eligible applicants

Australian Universities, Australian Medical Research Institutes, and Australian NGO Cooperation Program (ANCP) Accredited NGOs with on-going links to overseas counterpart organisations in Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam, and China (Yunnan Province) are eligible to apply for the Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security). Australian organisations must be legal entities with an Australian Business Number (ABN).

Overseas organisations and individuals are not eligible to apply for a Fellowship. They may initiate contact with an eligible Australian organisation to explore the organisation’s interest in applying for a Fellowship grant.

How to apply

Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security) will open on 30 October and close on 5 December 2017. Applications must be submitted online via

Please ensure you read the Australia Awards Fellowships (Health Security) Guidelines [PDF 1.7 MB] | [Word 942 KB] thoroughly before submitting your application via SmartyGrants.

For any additional information about this targeted round please email

Last Updated: 27 October 2017