Australia Awards

2018-19 Budget Estimate:
$305 million

Australia Awards are prestigious international Scholarships and Fellowships funded by the Australian Government. They offer the next generation of global leaders an opportunity to undertake study, research and professional development in Australia and for high-achieving Australians to do the same overseas.

Australia Awards are a whole of Australian government initiative bringing together Scholarships and Fellowships administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; the Department of Education; and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research. For more information on the Australia Awards visit the whole of Australian government Australia Awards website.

Why we give aid

The Australian Government’s development policy Australian aid: promoting prosperity, reducing poverty, enhancing stability recognises that tertiary education is an important component of any investment in education. Find out more about the aid policy framework.

The Australia Awards Global Strategy: Investing in the next generation of global leaders for development 2016-18 outlines the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade's  investment in Australia Awards.

Australia Awards build capacity of our partner countries to address development challenges and provide opportunities for strengthening strategic partnerships.

The goal of the Australia Awards is to support partner countries progress their development goals and have positive relationships with Australia that advance mutual interests.

By investing in people-to-people and institutional links, we are better placed to pursue our mutual interests based on a deeper understanding of the cultural, social and economic drivers underpinning our domestic and international interests. 

Five principles will be applied to our Australia Awards investment approach decisions:

  • Principle 1: Alignment with Australia's development, economic and public diplomacy priorities
  • Principle 2: Equity of Access
  • Principle 3: Merit-based Selection
  • Principle 4: Value for Money and Evidence-based Decision Making
  • Principle 5: Promote the Australia Awards

How we give aid

Australia Awards offered through Australian aid program consist of Australia Awards Scholarships, Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships, and Australia Awards Fellowships.

There are also a number of supplementary programs associated with Australia Awards Scholarships including the Allison Sudradjat Prize, Hadi Soesastro Prize and the Australia Awards Leadership Program.

More information, including applicant eligibility criteria can be found at:

To ensure equity and broad participation, the Australian Government encourages women, people with disability, ethnic minorities, people living in rural areas and members of socio-economically disadvantaged groups to apply.

The Australian Government is also developing a global network of alumni to promote ongoing connections between Australia Awards alumni, New Colombo Plan alumni and non-award (private) alumni, as part of increased public diplomacy efforts. Australia Awards Alumni networks facilitate strong and enduring links to Australia. The networks facilitate the ongoing exchange of knowledge and continuing friendships amongst alumni. More information on Alumni Engagement.

In 2017-18 the Australia Awards offered 4,031 new awards to recipients from over 60 eligible developing countries.

For more information on the Australia Awards and participating countries visit the Australia Awards website.


Australia Awards - empowering leaders for development

Watch this video on YouTube

See all our Australia Awards videos


Foreign Minister Julie Bishop with Australia Award recipients at an Australian alumni event at the Residence
Foreign Minister Julie Bishop with Australia Award recipients at an Australian alumni event at the Residence.


Contact us

Scholarships and Alumni Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade