Participating countries

Australia Awards-ASEAN Scholarships

Fifty prestigious Australia Awards-ASEAN Scholarships will be offered to citizens of ASEAN countries, to undertake postgraduate (Masters-level) study in Australia commencing in 2019.

An initiative of the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit, the Australia Awards-ASEAN Scholarship is a one-off opportunity to study in Australia in fields contributing to ASEAN’s peace, prosperity and social development.

  • Political-Security - Contribute to peace and stability in Southeast Asia
  • Economic - Contribute to ASEAN’s economic integration and promote inclusive growth
  • Socio-Cultural - Contribute to an ASEAN Community that is people-centred and socially responsible

Your career will benefit from new knowledge, leadership skills and links you create in Australia and through our global alumni network.

For nationals of ASEAN countries only.

For citizens of ASEAN countries without a current Australia Awards program (Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand), please apply here: Application Form for Australia Awards-ASEAN Scholarships Intake 2019. Applications close on 30 April 2018.

For citizens of ASEAN countries with current Australia Awards programs (Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, and Vietnam) follow the same application process as the Australia Awards Scholarships 2019 Intake for your country. Click on your country name below to view country-specific information.

This page lists countries that are eligible for Australia Awards Scholarships, and country-specific eligibility criteria. Opening and closing dates can be found here


Bangladesh Bhutan Cambodia
India Indonesia Laos
Maldives Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal Pakistan Philippines
Sri Lanka Timor-Leste Vietnam


Federated States of Micronesia Fiji Kiribati
Marshall Islands Nauru Papua New Guinea
Republic of Palau Samoa Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu Vanuatu
Wallis and Futuna    


Eligibility criteria

Botswana Ghana Kenya
Madagascar Malawi Mauritius
Mozambique Nigeria South Africa
Tanzania Zambia  

Middle East

Palestinian Territories

Last Updated: 7 February 2017