Direct Aid Program Annual Overview 2015-16

The Direct Aid Program (DAP) is a small grants program funded from Australia's aid budget. It has the flexibility to work with local communities in developing countries on projects that reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development consistent with Australia's national interest.

It sits alongside Australia's longer-term country and multilateral development strategies and with its wide geographical reach plays an important role in supporting local community efforts towards poverty reduction across the globe.

The program is founded on a set of principles which:

  • advance developmental outcomes in countries eligible for Official Development Assistance (ODA) through projects primarily focused on practical and tangible results. This may include projects which support good governance, human rights and those with a strong advocacy component,
  • support Australia's wider foreign and trade policy interests and public diplomacy objectives, including promoting a distinctive and positive image of Australia, and
  • allow for a wide geographic reach reflecting that Australia has global interests and that DAP provides an effective way to build relationships and maintain Australia's profile.

In 2015-16 DAP projects achieved a range of positive outcomes in sectors such as education, health, water and sanitation, women's empowerment and gender equality, supporting people with disabilities, economic livelihoods, food security and human rights.

DAP projects engage a wide range of partners including community groups, non-government organisations, schools and local governments.

Total funding (2015-16):

$22 million

Number of projects:


Number of Australian embassies and High Commissions utilising DAP:



Number of countries:


The International Development Fund

The International Development Fund (IDF) is a sub-program of the Direct Aid Program and is managed through Australia's permanent missions to the United Nations in New York, Geneva and Vienna, and to the World Trade Organisation in Geneva. The IDF helps build support for multilateral agendas that Australia wishes to advance. It supports aid-eligible projects and those that enable developing countries to participate in international meetings.

A map of countries that receive DAP funding, 2015-16. This data is available in the below table.
Countries that received DAP funding, 2015-16

View a larger version of this image

DAP-eligible countries, 2015-16
Region Administering post Eligible countries / Territories

* The host country does not receive DAP funds


Abuja (Nigeria) Benin, Cameroon, Gabon, The Gambia, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Niger, Chad
Accra (Ghana) Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Eritrea, Sudan, Syria
Harare (Zimbabwe) Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Congo (Democratic Republic of)
Lisbon (Portugal)* Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe
Nairobi (Kenya) Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Somalia
Madrid (Spain)* Equatorial Guinea
Port Louis (Mauritius) Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles
Pretoria (South Africa) Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland

Latin America and the Caribbean

Brasilia (Brazil) Brazil
Buenos Aires (Argentina) Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay
Lima (Peru) Peru, Bolivia
Mexico City (Mexico) Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama
Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago)* Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname
Santiago de Chile (Chile) Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela
South and Central Asia Colombo (Sri Lanka) Maldives, Sri Lanka
Dhaka (Bangladesh) Bangladesh
Islamabad (Pakistan) Pakistan
Kabul (Afghanistan) Afghanistan
Kathmandu (Nepal) Nepal
Moscow (Russia)* Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Moldova
New Delhi (India) India, Bhutan
Mumbai, Chennai (India) India
South East Asia Bangkok (Thailand) Thailand
Dili (East Timor) East Timor
Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) Vietnam
Jakarta, Bali (Indonesia) Indonesia
Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)
Manila (Philippines) Philippines
Phnom Penh (Cambodia) Cambodia
Yangon (Myanmar) Myanmar
Vientiane (Laos) Laos
The Pacific Apia (Samoa) Samoa
Honiara (Solomon Islands) Solomon Islands
Nauru (Nauru) Nauru
Noumea (New Caledonia)* Wallis and Futuna
Nuku'alofa (Tonga) Tonga
Pohnpei (Federated States of Micronesia) Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau
Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea) Papua New Guinea
Port Vila (Vanuatu) Vanuatu
Suva (Fiji) Fiji, Tuvalu
Tarawa (Kiribati) Kiribati
Wellington (NZ)* Cook Is, Niue

Middle East

Amman (Jordan) Jordan
Baghdad (Iraq) Iraq
Beirut (Lebanon) Lebanon
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Syria
Ramallah (Palestinian Territories) Palestinian Territories
Tehran (Iran) Iran
Malta* Tunisia
Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)* Yemen
Europe Ankara (Turkey) Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey
Belgrade (Serbia) Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia
Canakkale (Turkey) Turkey
Rome (Italy)* Albania
Vienna (Austria)* Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo
Kyiv (Ukraine) Ukraine
North Asia Beijing (China) China
Seoul (Republic of Korea)* Mongolia
Global IDF New York (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (WTO)* ODA-eligible countries
Vienna (UN)* ODA-eligible countries

Last Updated: 12 December 2016