Direct Aid Program

The Direct Aid Program (DAP) is a small grants program funded from Australia’s aid budget. It has the flexibility to work with local communities in developing countries on projects that reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development consistent with Australia’s national interest. It sits alongside Australia’s longer-term country and multilateral development strategies and with its wide geographical reach, plays an important role in supporting local community efforts towards poverty reduction.

DAP is administered through Australia's overseas diplomatic posts on an annual (1 July – 30 June financial year) basis. In 2016-17 the total DAP budget is $22 million.

Overview of the 2014-15 DAP program

This illustrates the implementation of DAP through examples of selected projects in specific regions around the world.

The management of DAP varies from post to post. To find out more about how DAP is managed at individual posts, please consult the post website.

Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates, multilateral missions and representative offices


The program is founded on a set of principles which:

  • Advance developmental outcomes in countries eligible for Official Development Assistance (ODA) through projects primarily focused on practical and tangible results. This may include projects which support good governance, human rights and those with a strong advocacy component
  • Support Australia’s wider foreign and trade policy interests and public diplomacy objectives, including promoting a distinctive and positive image of Australia
  • allow for a wide geographic reach reflecting that Australia has global interests and that DAP provides a low cost and effective way to build relationships and maintain Australia’s profile.

These principles are underpinned by the DAP guidelines.  There is no minimum amount that a single DAP project can receive but the maximum is $60,000 over the life of the project.  Activities can run up to a maximum of two years.

Who can apply for DAP funding?

Funding is available on a not-for-profit basis to individuals, community groups, NGOs and other entities engaged in development activities in countries that are eligible for ODA. The management of the Direct Aid Program varies from mission to mission.  To find out more about how the program is managed in a particular country, please contact the Australian mission overseas that administers DAP in that country (see list below).  For Australian mission contact details, see: Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates, multilateral missions and representative offices.

International Development Fund (IDF)

The International Development Fund (IDF) is a sub-program of the Direct Aid Program and is managed through Australia’s permanent missions to the United Nations in New York, in Geneva and in Vienna, and to the World Trade Organisation in Geneva.  Along with the founding principles of the program, the IDF helps build support for multilateral agendas that Australia wishes to advance.  It supports ODA0eleigible projects and those that enable developing countries to participate in international meetings.

Who can apply for IDF support?

IDF support is available to UN organisations, community groups, NGOs, the private sector or any other not-for-profit organization.  Please contact one of the four Australian missions overseas that manages the IDF program for further detail.

The table below sets out the Australian diplomatic posts which have received DAP allocations in 2016-17, and the countries in which these posts administer the program.

DAP-eligible countries
Region Administering post Eligible countries / Territories

* The host country does not receive DAP funds


Abuja (Nigeria) Benin, Cameroon, Gabon, The Gambia, Nigeria, Niger
Accra (Ghana) Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan, Central African Republic
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Eritrea, Sudan, Syria
Harare (Zimbabwe) Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Congo (Democratic Republic of)
Lisbon (Portugal)* Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe
Nairobi (Kenya) Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Somalia
Madrid (Spain)* Equatorial Guinea
Port Louis (Mauritius) Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles
Pretoria (South Africa) Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland

Latin America and the Caribbean

Brasilia (Brazil) Brazil
Buenos Aires (Argentina) Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay
Lima (Peru) Peru, Bolivia
Mexico City (Mexico) Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama
Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago)* Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname
Santiago de Chile (Chile) Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela
South and Central Asia Colombo (Sri Lanka) Maldives, Sri Lanka
Dhaka (Bangladesh) Bangladesh
Islamabad (Pakistan) Pakistan
Kabul (Afghanistan) Afghanistan
Kathmandu (Nepal) Nepal
Moscow (Russia)* Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Moldova, Kyrgystan
New Delhi (India) India, Bhutan
Mumbai, Chennai (India) India
South East Asia Bangkok (Thailand) Thailand
Dili (East Timor) East Timor
Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) Vietnam
Jakarta, Bali, Makassar (Indonesia) Indonesia
 Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)
Manila (Philippines) Philippines
Phnom Penh (Cambodia) Cambodia
Yangon (Myanmar) Myanmar
Vientiane (Laos) Laos
The Pacific Apia (Samoa) Samoa
Honiara (Solomon Islands) Solomon Islands
Nauru (Nauru) Nauru
Noumea (New Caledonia)* Wallis and Futuna
Nuku'alofa (Tonga) Tonga
Pohnpei (Federated States of Micronesia) Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau
Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea) Papua New Guinea
Port Vila (Vanuatu) Vanuatu
Suva (Fiji) Fiji, Tuvalu
Tarawa (Kiribati) Kiribati
Wellington (NZ)* Cook Is, Niue

Middle East

Amman (Jordan) Jordan
Baghdad (Iraq) Iraq
Beirut (Lebanon) Lebanon
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Syria
Ramallah (Palestinian Territories) Palestinian Territories
Tehran (Iran) Iran
Malta* Tunisia
Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)* Yemen
Europe Ankara (Turkey) Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey
Belgrade (Serbia) Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia
Canakkale (Turkey) Turkey
Rome (Italy)* Albania
Vienna (Austria)* Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo
Kyiv (Ukraine) Ukraine
North Asia Beijing (China) China
Ulaan Baatar Mongolia
Global IDF New York (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (WTO)* ODA-eligible countries
Vienna (UN)* ODA-eligible countries