Australia-ASEAN Council Grants

AAC Grant Rounds – Key Dates:

AAC Grant Round 2018-19

Key Date

  • Opening date
9am (AEDT) 5 February 2018
  • Closing date
5pm (AEST) 4 April 2018
  • Approval of outcomes of selection process
Late June, early July 2018
  • Negotiations and award of grant agreements
Late July 2018, early August 2018

AAC Special Grant Round: ASEAN-Australia Special Summit 2018

Key Date

  • Opening date
2pm (AEDT) 31 August 2017
  • Closing date
Midnight (AEDT) 6 October 2017
  • Approval of outcomes of selection process
December 2017
  • Negotiations and award of grant agreements
January 2018

Start Application

Objectives of the grant round

The Australia-ASEAN Council (AAC)seeks to:

  • Initiate and support influential persons and groups in Australia and South-East Asian countries, with activities that encourage a greater interest in the development of cooperation and collaboration between the countries, including trade and economic relations and people-to-people links;
  • Promote cooperation between individuals and institutions in Australia and South-East Asian countries which enhance learning, teaching and research in areas of mutual interest;
  • Broaden awareness and understanding in Australia and South-East Asian countries of each other's culture, values and traditions through increased people‐to‐people capabilities, strengths and opportunities;
  • Promote the Australia‐ASEAN region relationship and foster relations through media and alumni activities in order to facilitate long‐term bilateral links between Australia and the countries of South-East Asia; and
  • Wherever possible the Council seeks to expand people‐to‐people and institutional links through partnerships with other organisations and seed funding of projects.

The Council's mandate is to cover the ten countries of ASEAN: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The priority of the Special Australia-ASEAN Council grant round is to leverage the momentum of the Special Summit (16-18 March 2018) to generate increased enthusiasm and awareness about the ASEAN-Australia relationship, including:

  • the strength of people-to-people connections, generated through migration, education and tourism
  • the significance of trade and investment ties  – ASEAN is Australia’s third largest trading partner and fourth largest source of foreign investment
  • the value of increased government-to-government engagement on regional strategic and economic issues.

Preference will be given to applications which reflect the Special Summit’s theme of Enhancing regional security and prosperity and any of the following priorities for ASEAN-Australia cooperation:

  • education
  • economic cooperation and business linkages, particularly as these relate to the challenges and opportunities from digital transformation 
  • cooperation on regional issues, including cyber cooperation, combatting human-trafficking and countering terrorism

Activities to be funded could include:

  • academic or think-tank discussions and exchanges
  • community or public events
  • media programming
  • cultural events
  • business or other networking events

Ideally, events from this special grants round would be held in the week leading up to the Special Summit as part of the ASEAN-Australia Week (12-18 March 2018). There would be some flexibility around that.

Key considerations for the ASEAN-Australia Council in awarding these grants will be the capacity of projects to increase people-to-people and institutional linkages between Australia and Southeast Asia, the capacity to increase knowledge and understanding in Australia of Southeast Asia, and the capacity of the project to reach a broader sector of the community (whether directly or through media and social media coverage).

Grant Program Guidelines [DOCX 238 KB]

Last Updated: 15 February 2017