Inaugural Alice Tay Human Rights Award

Media Release

12 June 2003

Media release

Dr John Yu AC, Chair of the Australia-China Council, has announced that Dr Xiaoyuan Shang will receive the Council’s inaugural Alice Tay Human Rights Award.  The Award was established to recognise the contributions of the President of the Human Rights and Equal Opportunities Commission, Professor Alice Tay, to the promotion of human rights in China.

In December 2002, the Council called for applications from Australian scholars who had made a significant contribution to improving the understanding of human rights in China and would like funding for a new project.  The Award is for $15,000.

The Chair noted Dr Shang’s impressive record of published works and experience in the field of child protection and said her proposed project - Creating an inclusive social environment for vulnerable children: child protection in the Xinjiang Uighur Autonomous Region - had the potential to make a real difference to children’s rights and child protection in Western China.

The Australia-China Council was established in 1978 for the purpose of promoting mutual understanding and expanding the areas of contact and exchange between Australia and China and their people.

Last Updated: 1 November 2012