Australia-India Council Board

Australia-India Council Board Members are appointed by the Minister for Foreign Affairs. The Council's Chair is appointed by the Governor-General of Australia on the nomination of the Minister.

Board Members


Ashok Jacob

Mr Ashok Jacob

Mr Jacob is the Chairman and Chief Investment Officer of Ellerston Capital. He is also a Director of Thorney Opportunities Ltd and MRF Ltd (Chennai, India). Mr Jacob holds an MBA from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania and a Bachelor of Science from St Joseph's College, Bangalore, India.

Deputy Chair

Mr Barry O’Farrell

Mr Barry O’Farrell

Mr O’Farrell was a member of the New South Wales Parliament from1995 until 2015 and served as the Premier of New South Wales from 2011 until 2014. Mr O’Farrell initiated and led annual trade missions to India to promote and grow economic, cultural and social links between New South Wales and the states of India. In 2012 his government established a Sister State relationship between New South Wales and the Indian state of Maharashtra. In 2013 during a visit to India Mr O’Farrell began work towards a similar agreement with Gujarat at a meeting with then Chief Minister Narendra Modi. In October 2016 Mr O’Farrell was appointed as the Special Envoy for the NSW-India Relationship.


Professor Robin Batterham

Professor Batterham is Kernot Professor of Engineering at the University of Melbourne and a former Chief Scientist of Australia. He has held senior research positions with mining corporation Rio Tinto and is concurrently serving as Chair of the Advisory Panel of the Australia India Strategic Research Fund. Professor Batterham is a fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering.

Mr Michael Kasprowicz

Mr Kasprowicz is Founder and Managing Director of Venture India Pty Ltd, Director of Kaspa Australia Pty Ltd and a former Australian Test cricketer. He is a Board Director of Cricket Australia, a Board Member of the Queensland Bulls Masters and Honorary Ambassador for Brisbane City Council in the Hyderabad, Ipswich and Brisbane sister city relationship.

Ms Neema Premji

Ms Premji is Director of Premji Board Consultancy and Management Services, Chair and Director of the Bunbury Port Authority and Director of the Busselton Water Board. She has previously worked with Wesfarmers Coal Limited and BHP Research as a mining engineer.

Ms Sheba Nandkeolyar

Ms Nandkeolyar is National Chair of the Australia India Business Council (AIBC) and Founding Chair of the AIBC’s Women in Business Chapter. She is also Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of Multiconnexions Pty Ltd. Ms Nandkeolyar holds a Masters of Business Administration from Calcutta University.

Last Updated: 17 May 2018