46 High Commission in New Delhi to Department of External Affairs

Cablegram 15 NEW DELHI, 7 January 1949, 7.15 p.m.


Asian Conference. Following is list of countries invited. Burma, Australia, Afghanistan, Iran, Egypt, China, (observers) Ceylon, Pakistan, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Lebanon, Iran, Yemen, Nepal, New Zealand, Turkey, Siam, Philippines.

2. Menon indicated this afternoon that the first seven are firm acceptances while he thinks that last three and perhaps New Zealand are doubtful.

3. He told me in confidence that Transjordan had not been invited saying that the Arab League were annoyed with them over Palestine.

[AA : A1838, 383/1/25]