189 News Release from Department of Foreign Affairs

Canberra, 23 January 1973

Australian Ratification of Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Seabed Arms Control Treaties

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr E.G. Whitlam, announced today that arrangements had been made for Australia to ratify two Treaties relating to the control of nuclear weapons—the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and the Seabed Arms Control Treaty.1

Mr Whitlam said that instruments of ratification were being deposited today by Australian representatives in the three depository capitals, London, Washington and Moscow.

[matter omitted]

Mr Whitlam said that to fulfil the principal requirement of ratification of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, Australia was already negotiating with the International Atomic Energy Agency for a Safeguards Agreement, which would provide practical arrangements to prevent the non-peaceful use of nuclear material.

[matter omitted]

[NAA: A1838, 919/10/5 part 36]