Sanctions regimes

Australian sanction laws implement United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regimes and Australian autonomous sanctions regimes. 

The sanctions regimes currently implemented under Australian sanction laws are shown in the diagram below:

Venn Diagram showing a list of division of UNSC Sanctions, Australian autonomous sanctions and both. UNSC Sanctions apply to Al Quaida, Central African Republic, Cote d'Ivoire, Counter-terrorism, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Guinea-Bissau, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Somalia, Sudan, the Taliban and Yemen. Australian autonomous sanctions apply to Burma, Syria, the situation in Ukraine, Former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, and Zimbabwe. Both types of sanctions apply to Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Iran and Libya.


Detailed information about the particular sanctions measures imposed by a particular sanctions regime: