ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement snapshot (including Australia)

  • GDP: US$4.1 trillion (2013)
  • GDP per capita: US$6,263 (2013)
  • Population: 653.6 million (2013)
  • Trade with Australia: $113.9 billion (2013)

The First Protocol - 1 October 2015

The First Protocol to amend AANZFTA was signed by Ministers on 26 August 2014 and will enter into force on 1 October 2015. Please see the business tab.


The Agreement Establishing the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) is Australia’s most ambitious trade deal to date. The countries of ASEAN - Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam - constitute one of the most dynamic economic regions in the world. And what’s more, it’s right on Australia’s doorstep.

AANZFTA is Australia’s first multi-country FTA. It is the first time Australia and New Zealand have been involved jointly in negotiating an FTA with third countries. It is the first time ASEAN has embarked on FTA negotiations covering all sectors including goods, services, investment and intellectual property simultaneously. This makes it the most comprehensive trade agreement that ASEAN has ever negotiated.

AANZFTA will deliver real commercial benefit for Australian exporters and investors.

Key interests and benefits

  • Extensive tariff reduction and elimination commitments.
  • Regional rules of origin will provide new opportunities for Australian exporters to tap into  international supply chains in the region.
  • Promotes greater certainty for Australian service suppliers and investors, including through certain legal protections for investment in ASEAN territories.
  • Provides a platform for ongoing economic engagement with ASEAN through a range of built-in agendas, economic cooperation projects and business outreach activities.

AANZFTA: overview and key outcomes

Last Updated: 27 January 2016

Contact us

For questions about AANZFTA not covered on this website, contact the Free Trade Agreement Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade at:

  • Email:
  • Fax: (02) 6261 2187
  • Mail:
    AANZFTA Enquiries
    Free Trade Agreement Division
    Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
    R G Casey Building
    John McEwen Crescent
    BARTON ACT 0221

For media enquiries, please call DFAT's Media Liaison Section: (02) 6261 1555.