The G20

Australia is the current chair of the Group of Twenty (G20). The G20 is the premier forum for international economic cooperation and decision-making, with representation from 19 countries plus the European Union. G20 members meet regularly to discuss ways to strengthen the global economy, reform international financial institutions and improve financial regulation. Australia's host year began on 1 December 2013 and will culminate in a Leaders' Summit in Brisbane on 15-16 November 2014.

The G20 official website for 2014

Australia's Foreign Minister Julie Bishop has primary carriage of the G20 development agenda. The Foreign Minister also regularly engages across the broader G20 agenda with her international counterparts, both G20 members and non-members. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade is responsible for G20 Development Working Group meetings in 2014.

Australia's Trade and Investment Minister Andrew Robb is responsible for steering the G20 trade agenda during Australia's host year and chaired the G20 Trade Ministers meeting in July in Sydney. Australia has welcomed Turkey’s announcement that it will hold a G20 Trade Ministers meeting during its 2015 G20 presidency.

International engagement activities of Australia's Prime Minister, Treasurer, Foreign Minister, Trade and Employment Ministers and G20 officials are supported by Australia's diplomatic network. In December 2013, the Australian Government appointed Daniel Sloper as Australia's G20 Special Representative. Working to Australia's Sherpa, he conducts international outreach on behalf of the G20 on the 2014 agenda.