The G20

The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier international forum for international economic cooperation and decision-making, bringing together 20 of the world’s largest economies. They work together to ensure a resilient global financial system and promote strong, sustainable, balanced and inclusive growth across both developed and developing economies.

G20 members

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and the European Union.

G20 members account for:

  • 86 per cent of the world economy
  • 78 per cent of global trade
  • two-thirds of the world's population, including more than half of the world's poor.
World map with G20 member countries highlighted.

How the G20 works

G20 decisions are reached by consensus and commitments are on a voluntary basis. The President or host of the G20 changes each year.

Australia participates in a broad range of G20 meetings including:

  • G20 leaders meet annually at the G20 Summit
  • G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meet regularly throughout the year
  • a range of other ministerial meetings are held as required at the direction of the G20 President, which have included in the past meetings relating to agriculture, employment and trade
  • G20 'sherpas' and officials-level working groups meet regularly throughout the year.

G20 members reach decisions by consensus, and commitments are made on a voluntary basis. The G20 has a set of engagement groups that feed ideas and information into the decision-making process, and make recommendations to leaders. These groups draw upon experts from all G20 countries and consider issues including business (B20), civil society (C20), labour (L20), think tanks (T20), women (W20) and youth (Y20).

The G20 and Australia

Australia values the G20 as the premier forum for global economic cooperation. Its membership brings together both developed and emerging economies from every region across the world. Given this, the G20’s collective actions can make a real difference to the future of the global economy. Australia held the G20 Presidency in 2014.

Australia’s key priorities in the G20 are:

  • improving global economic governance
  • promoting economic growth, a more resilient global economy and ensuring the benefits can be shared by all
  • supporting open markets, international trade and investment.

G20 initiatives and commitments sometimes span across multiple years and the government works to implement these commitments within Australia.  Australia also works with other G20 members to help uphold these commitments.

For information on current priorities and how Australia is engaging with the G20, follow the conversation with Australia’s G20 'Sherpa' Dr David Gruen on Twitter @G20Australia. The Sherpa is the Prime Minister’s senior G20 official and representative throughout the year, helping to deliver G20 policy initiatives and commitments.

2017 Summit, Hamburg, Germany

Germany is G20 President in 2017. Germany focused its G20 work around three aims:

  • building resilience
  • improving sustainability
  • assuming responsibility.

The theme for the 2017 G20 Leaders’ Summit in Hamburg on 7–8 July was 'shaping an interconnected world'. Leaders agreed a declaration following their meeting, outlining the G20's decisions and commitments, and released a statement on countering terrorism.

G20 future hosts

  • 2018 — Argentina
  • 2019 — Japan
  • 2020 — Saudi Arabia
Last Updated: 6 November 2017