Congo, Republic of the

The Republic of Congo is often referred to as Congo-Brazzaville (the nation's capital), to distinguish it from its large neighbour to the east, the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The Republic of Congo is sparsely populated, with more than two-thirds of the population living in Brazzaville, the port city of Pointe-Noire, or along the railroad linking the two. French is the official language.

The Republic of Congo is one of Africa's largest petroleum exporters. Mining, forestry and commercial agriculture are also important sectors.

The Republic of Congo is a founding member of the African Union. It is also a member of La Francophonie and the Economic Community of Central African States.

Australia's Ambassador to the Republic of Congo is resident in Harare, Zimbabwe.

Travel information

Heads of Government


Last Updated: 24 April 2019