Australia and Sri Lanka: Joint Declaration

Australia and Sri Lanka have built a strong and enduring relationship since the establishment of diplomatic relations in 1947. As part of the 70th Anniversary, Sri Lankan President, His Excellency Maithripala Sirisen travelled to Australia. To mark the visit – the first bilateral visit by a Head of State to either country – the Australian and Sri Lankan governments issued a Joint Declaration on Enhanced Cooperation.

The Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs, Julie Bishop and Sri Lankan Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, Dr Harsha de Silva, signed this declaration in Parliament House on 25 May 2017.

Read the Joint Declaration on Enhanced Cooperation

Last Updated: 31 May 2017