IORA Chair

South Africa became the Chair of IORA in October 2017. There are two vice chairs, comprised of the previous and next IORA Chairs, which complete the IORA leadership Troika. Currently, the vice chairs are held by Indonesia (IORA Chair 2015-17) and United Arab Emirates (incumbent Chair 2019-2021). Bangladesh has been elected Chair for 2021-23.

Past IORA Chairs include Indonesia (2015-17); Australia (2013-2015); India (2011-2013); Yemen (2009-2011); Iran (2006-2008); Sri Lanka (2003-2005); Oman (2001-2002); Mozambique (1999-2000) and Mauritius (1997-1998).

Last Updated: 29 May 2019