Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus

About PACER Plus

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations Plus is a comprehensive Free Trade Agreement (FTA) covering goods, services and investment.

Negotiations on PACER Plus commenced in 2009 and concluded in Brisbane on 20 April 2017.

The Agreement was signed in Nuku’alofa in Tonga on 14 June 2017 by Australia, New Zealand and eight Pacific island countries – Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Tuvalu. Vanuatu signed in Apia in Samoa on 7 September 2017.

Negotiating parties have reviewed and legally verified the text of the Agreement.

Last Updated: 16 June 2017

Pacer Plus market snapshot

  • GDP: US$1.4 trillion (2016)
  • Population: 31 million (2016)
  • Trade with Australia: AU$26 billion (FY 2016)

Contact us

  • Email:
  • Fax: 02 6261 2661
  • Mail:
    Pacific Regional Branch
    Pacific Division
    Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
    R G Casey Building
    John McEwen Crescent
    Barton ACT 0221